Uncategorized

Good Dog, Dog Treats

image

OK, they are not really sad but I have had some rough days. Its time to say good-bye to my 13 year old lab mix. My new phone got fixed, and is miserable. She’s been sore, and her big sister doesn’t help by trying to play. I am so glad we have the little girls during this tough time, but saying bye to the sweetest gentle giant I have ever known will not be easy.


He is arthritic and has cancer. We have known it was coming, but he has been still happily wagging his tail and greeting us each day. Its getting harder.

I will never forget the day we got him. I was in high school and volunteering with a no kill shelter at the time. He was the crazy puppy who they stuck in with the little old dogs. I think they must of stuck them together because they were near the same size. He was trying in vain to get them to play. My mom fell in love instantly and he has been a part of our lives since.

Well to say good bye I decided to make him a treat and spend the afternoon doing his favorite thing. Watching out the front window and getting his ears scratched.

Carrot Apple Treats

1 carrot
1/2 c apple sauce, unsweetened
1 1/2 c flour
1/4 c oats
1/4 c corn meal
3 T peanut butter
1 egg

Preheat oven to 400 F. Put carrot and applesauce into food processor and puree carrot. Add everything else and process until dough forms a ball. If too wet add more flour.

Remove and roll 1/4 inch thin. Cut and place on cookie sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Let cool.

Standard

Leave a Reply

