Appetizers, Dinner

WOW…. Jerusalem Hummus with Lamb

image

My husband is in Idaho hunting with his brothers. Normally I take this time to make some food I have been craving that he wouldn’t touch.  I have been eying this recipe for some time now, and wanted to make it the second he left, unfortunately I ended up with this awful cold and can’t really taste anything.  I mean when the boys are away, I want to play!

Today I decided it was either now or never for the recipe. I mean he is back tomorrow and I don’t want to eye it for another full year. Boy am I glad I made it. It is to die for. I also made homemade pitas, and the whole thing was so good I may just make it again tomorrow.

Hummus
Adapted from Jerusalem

1 cup dried chickpeas
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup tahini paste
4 T fresh lemon juice
4 cloves of garlic

Soak chickpeas in water overnight. Make sure to cover them and leave a lot of extra water.

Drain. Place in crockpot with 6 cups of water and the baking soda. Place on high for about 6-8 hours. Chickpeas should be very tender. Drain.

Place in food processor and run machine until you get a thick paste. With processor still on add minced garlic, tahini, lemon juice, and some salt. Process for about 5 minutes.

Kawarma and Lemon Sauce
Adapted from Jerusalem

2 T pine nuts, toasted (for garnish)

1/2 lb ground lamb
1/2 t fresh ground pepper
1 t ground allspice
1/2 t ground cinnamon
1/8 t ground nutmeg
1 t crushed dried Oregano
1 T white wine vinegar
1 T chopped mint
1 T chopped Italian parsley
1 t salt

Mix spices and vinegar and marinate ground lamb for half an hour. Heat a skillet and brown the lamb.

Lemon Sauce

3 T Italian parsley, chopped
1/2 jalapeño
4 T fresh lemon juice
2 T white wine vinegar
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/4 t salt

Mix sauce together.

To serve place hummus in a bowl and make a well in the center. Place lamb in the well, drizzle with lemon sauce (generously) and top with pine nuts and more parsley. Serve with warm fresh pitas and you are set for a delicious meal.

image

Standard

Leave a Reply

