Dessert

Strawberry Crumb Stress Bars

Image

These beauties came up because I had some strawberry jam a neighbor made, that I needed to use, and some leftover almond flour from macarons.    That would be a great excuse if it were 100% true.  Yes, I had those items, but in reality we bought a new car that day and I was beyond stressed.  It is just me or does anyone else wonder how a car salesman sleeps at night?  We walked out on two salesman because they were being rude and wanted us to sign papers before they would even tell  us anything about the cars.  They blamed “company policy,” but really I think they were just jerks.

We ended up finding a great car from the best salesman I have ever met, but then the signing of papers and all that stuff stresses me out.  I am pretty frugal and any large expenditure of money scares me.  So, when I got home the first thing my husband did was play with car settings, and I baked.

Strawberry Crumb Bars

Adapted from Bakeaholic

2 Sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 1/3 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup finely ground almonds or almond flour

1 5/6 cup flour

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1 1/2 cups of strawberry jam

Preheat oven to 325 F.  Prepare an 8 x 8 pan by spraying it with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl, combine butter and sugars.  When creamy, add vanilla and salt.  Slowly add the almond flour and flour to the mixture and beat until a smooth dough forms.  Divide the dough in half and press half into an 8 inch square pan.  Add oats to the remaining half and place the other half in the refrigerator.   Bake the crust for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and place jam on top of baked crust.  Crumble refrigerated mixture over the bars and bake for another 30 minutes.  Let cool completely before cutting and serving.

Standard

Leave a Reply

